Table 2. Definitions of aggregated regions.

EU15† Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, UK (all member states that entered the European Union before 2004)
EU12 Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia (all member states that entered the European Union after 2004)
High Income Countries Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) countries except EU27
Sub-Saharan Africa African countries beyond the Sahara, excl. Republic of South Africa
Brazil Brazil
Rest of Latin America Central and South America, except for Brazil
Asia South and South Eastern Asia, except for China
China China
Former Soviet Union Former Soviet Union

†EU: European Union